Helping You Handle The Mess Car Accidents Cause

Many people who are injured in car wrecks attempt to handle their own personal injury claims. This can be a costly mistake. By talking to an insurance company representative without a lawyer's advice, you could end up damaging your case.

Experienced Representation Capable Of Handling Any Car Accident Claim

At Gilder & Howell, Attorneys PLLC, in Southaven, our lawyers have 54 years of combined experience advocating for clients whose lives have been turned upside down because of someone else's negligent actions.

We focus almost exclusively on handling personal injury claims, which should leave you feeling confident knowing that we have the skills, experience and legal resources to help you secure a full financial recovery no matter what type of negligence caused your collision:

Avoid Pitfalls That Can Minimize Your Financial Recovery

Without the help of an experienced car accident attorney, you could unknowingly receive less compensation than your claim is worth. We are committed to helping you avoid the following pitfalls:

  • Taking an early settlement. If you settle your personal injury claim without negotiating with your medical insurance company, you could end up paying your entire settlement to your medical insurance company. We will negotiate with the insurance company so you can end up with money in your pocket.
  • Not having enough coverage. In Mississippi, drivers are only required to carry $25,000 in liability insurance. If you have suffered a serious injury, this will not be enough to cover your damages. If you settle with the liability carrier and release the driver, you may not be able to recover from any other source. We will look for all possible sources of recover, including your own uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
  • Admitting to fault in the crash. In Mississippi, your recovery will be reduced by any percentage of fault that can be assigned to you. Even if the other driver was at fault, his or her insurance company will immediately look for ways to assign a percentage of fault to you.
  • Not taking legal action. If a crash ends in an injury or wrongful death in Mississippi, you only have three years in which to file a claim. In Tennessee, the statute of limitations is even smaller — only one year after an accident. Many people forget or don't know that you don't have to be the one involved in the crash to sue. You can sue on behalf of a loved one.
  • Talking to an adjuster before talking to an attorney. Adjusters only do one thing. If you allow an adjuster to take your statement, this may limit you from recovering compensation against the insurance company.

The insurance adjuster is not your friend. Anything you say to the adjuster can and will be used to minimize the value of your car accident claim. Insurance companies try to resolve disputes quickly, normally by undervaluing claims. We can help you avoid this from happening.

Give Us A Call

If you or a loved one was involved in an accident in North Mississippi or West Tennessee, you may be entitled to compensation from an insurer. Talk to an attorney at our firm to learn more or to have your case reviewed for free.

To schedule a free and confidential consultation, call 662-655-2115 (toll free 866-912-0408) or send us an email. Remember: We charge nothing, unless we recover compensation for you.